Spotlight On: DJ Nitemer

Leave a comment

September 12, 2011 by DJ Elroy

Spotlight On: DJ Nitemer [pod-o-matic direct download]

Trainspotting:

01: Alfida – Eglama (Th Moy Prog Tech Mix)
02: Jelly For The Babies – Purple Chocolate (Mirko & Meex Mix)
03: Manna Croup – Give It Up
04: Oxygen ft Andrea Britton – Am I On Your Mind (D Ramirez Soul Searching Dub)
05: Jolyon Petch ft The Secret Police – Roxanne (Club Mix)
06: Jolyon Petch – Wrong (Darwin Backwall Mix)
07: Jolyon Petch ft Marqueal Jordan – All I Do (East & Young Mix)
08: Greg Stainer – Jambo Jambo (1st Mix)
09: Bluefish ft Anita Kelsey – Been Too Long (Sleepfreaks Dub Mix)
10: Faithless ft Estelle – Why Go? (Hoxton Whores Mix)
11: Fabian Gray, Emanuele – When U Fall (Jolyon Petch Rave Radio Remix)
12: Jolyon Petch, Sam Hill vs Thdudes – Bliss 2011 (Rave Radio Mix)

Really diggin’ the new mix; it’s a bit more housey but it’s still got your signature sound – melodic beats and a progressive build. But let’s talk about you. You’ve been part of the Denver nightlife scene for over a dozen years, host the hugely successful “Old Norsk Sessions” web-radio show, and you’ve been one of the biggest underground names in town. Tell me a bit about yourself and the life and times of DJ Nitemer… Go!

Well, let’s see… Been DJing over 10 years, been noodling around with Production for 5 or 6 years and —-

Hold up… Go back a bit further. How did you get bitten by the bug?

My love of dance music started during my trips to Norway when I was younger [[why?]]… I remember seeing the video for Daft Punk’s “Around the World” on the European MTV channel and falling in love with the album. That and music from Sash! and others around the same time just caught me off guard. It wasn’t a very familiar sound in Mainstream America at that point. And maybe it still isn’t, but at least it’s become more accepted these days. One of the things that made the biggest impression was Paul Oakenfold’s “Tranceport” album in 2000; once I heard that I was sold.

Tranceport” is one of my Top 5 most influential albums too! The impact that album (and Oakenfold) have had on dance music we know it is huge!

Indeed! Next it was Sasha’s “Global Underground: Ibiza” and my love for the music was taken to another level. You could say Daft Punk was the gateway drug and “Tranceport” and “Global Underground” got me hooked. I was told by a Norwegian friend to check out somebody named “DJ Tiesto” and that sealed it. I searched out his early mixes and live sets like a fiend; I’d fallen so far down the rabbit hole at this point there was no coming back.

And how did you make your way to the other side of the mixer?

Back in Denver I had a few friends that were spinning. It wasn’t like today where everyone knows somebody that calls himself a DJ. We were still relatively underground at that point. So I had DJ friends and knew others in the “industry” (such as it was at the time); the choice was pretty easy to make. I picked up things here and there, listening to other mixes and watching the local heroes like DJ Dragon, but ultimately it was a love of the music that got me behind the decks. I can’t say it was any single person or album that did it

And so you settled on the kind of progressive/trance that inspired you?

I took my influences and gave the sound my own unique spin. I enjoy mixing uplifting, high-energy sets that tell a story. I keep it in key, harmonically, and go for a truly “progressive” feel, building and building throughout. I’m also into aggressive basslines and percussion and love beautiful melodies. When I’m producing I’m going for energetic tracks that are emotive and make people feel good.

How far have you come since the first night you dropped the needle on the record? Any hard lessons you’ve learned along the way?

Well I was a quick learner and was able to put together passable mixes early on. With a bit more experience I became a fluid mixer and developed the ability to blend tracks together, creating a sort of funky shuffle between the music with the end result sounding like a new song altogether.

Playing in key has taking my mixing to a new level. Once I caught onto that, I was able to ride two tracks into each other very aggressively yet maintain a pleasant sound to the ear. Proper keying is something a lot of new jocks don’t bother with for some reason.

Another huge thing that came with time behind the decks was learning some of the stuff you don’t get with bedroom practice. Getting through tough situations, dealing with issues in and out of the DJ booth: the sound, the gear, the crowd, the promoters, everything else that you kind of learn as you go when you’re playing live shows. I’ve had so many situations where I’ve had to think fast and improvise and had to overcome adversity to present a good product.

There’s no substitute for the live shows…

Right. For me, playing live is all about the dancefloor. A good DJ is engaging with the crowd and can keep the energy up while smoothly mixing and maintaining that special vibe for the crowd.

What are you goals as an artist?

They’ve changed a bit over the years. I’ve done so much since I started — a 4+ year residency at the Church Nightclub; I’ve done Global Dance Festival, EDC, Ultra Music Festival, Caffeine, Spundae @ Circus, and tons of other one-off events, clubs, warehouse parties, raves, whatever you want to call them. I can’t say I had any clear-cut goals when I first started, but I’ve done a lot and I’m glad I did. I wouldn’t mind headlining some more out of state gigs. Between venues in the Denver area and LA I’ve had a great time. I had a blast playing a show in the Dominican Republic; I’d love to do more stuff like that. If not I’m content to keep sharing my music online through my radio shows and promo mixes. But really my goals now are more about producing new music. I’d love to grow as an artist and increase my fanbase. I’m really pushing to get some tracks out by the end of the year and maybe even getting that “breakthrough” song out there.

Do you think the dance music scene is getting better or worse?

Honestly I’m pretty disconnected from the local scene. I’m getting older and the “scene” as a whole is getting younger. I’m past the days of partying all night, and marriage, parenthood, and “real life” have really made me prioritize things…

However, I know there’s a lot of new talent out there. Listening to stations like Digitally Imported and TranceFM gives me hope that things aren’t as bad as some of the jaded folks like to think. There are a bunch of great producers around today; the problem is you have to dig through a lot of terrible music to find them. So yeah, better in some ways, worse in others.

Aside from Digitally Imported and TranceFM, what other sites do you visit?

I post a lot on Trance Addict, ProgressiveHouse, Ravelinks, and Facebook. And yes, even MySpace occasionally.

Any parting words of wisdom?

I learned early on that I’d rather be happy than right!

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

