Masters Series Hernan Cattaneo: Parallel

Leave a comment

June 11, 2010 by DJ Elroy

Release Date: July 05, 2010

Hernan Cattaneo presents another exciting chapter in the Renaissance Masters Series with a brand new approach…

Hernan’s return to the Masters Series in 2010 brings with it an exciting new development. This year the ever-creative South American has slowed things down to present a distinctly cosmic disco-esque take on his inimitable sound.

“I felt it was time we took a fresh direction,” says Hernan, “But, although it was always going to be alternate, I wasn’t sure just what this direction should be. So, I locked myself away and started going through loads of music for inspiration. It wasn’t till I pitched a Henry Saiz track down (and it sounded brilliant) that I hit upon the idea of dropping everything back 15-20 BPMs on the first disc.”

Entitled ‘Day’, disc one is a beautiful, shimmering ride through Cattaneo’s audio world, its musical style the perfect antithesis of two’s club-inspired ‘Night’. But what’s all the more remarkable is how he’s also managed to work five (out of a whopping eleven) original productions, remixes and edits into the mix – no mean feat considering the unique nature of the material. “I know there’s a big debate amongst dance music fans about exclusives on compilations right now, but for me it’s a purely positive objective. Just as with the alternate style of the ‘Day’ mix, it’s another way of distinguishing the album from a live club set, a statement to the fact a lot more effort has gone into the project as whole,” he challenges. “I’ll not deny working outside of the traditional comfort zone of 125 (approx) BPM was easy, but between commissioning tracks from some of my favourite producers / friends, using or adapting my own productions and sourcing some amazing music (like the fantastic Sigur Ros track that closes the ‘Day’ mix – it’s such a great song!), I think it came together really well.”

Although ‘Night’ finds Hernan in more familiar territory, it draws upon the remaining six exclusives to ensure his fresh authorship and feel of the mix continues throughout, and comes backed by tantilising gems from likes of Way Out West, Henry Saiz, Quivver and Tone Depth, to name but a few.

Renaissance: The Masters Series – Hernan Cattaneo, Parallel – is out July 5th

Further info: &

Disc One – Day

1. Hernán Cattáneo & Soundexile – Indian Son / Slacker – See The World (Hernan’s Dawn Reboot)

2. Marc Marzenit Pres. Divine Elements – Saint Two

3. Hernán Cattáneo & John Tonks – One 0 Five

4. Martin Garcia  – Galileo Was Right

5. Martin Garcia – Specific Impulse

6. Hernán Cattáneo & Soundexile – Blacklight (Day Mix)

7. Múm – The Ballad Of The Broken Birdie Records (Hernan Cattaneo & Soundexile Edit)

8. Mercurio – Acoustic

9. Jean F. Cochois – Like A Poison Snake

10. Hernán Cattáneo & Soundexile Feat. Tomomi Ukumori – Cripsis (Day mix)

11. Guy J – Dust (Into Dust Mix)

12. Henry Saiz – We are All ( Henry Saiz Earth´s Pulse Version)

13. Idioma – Landscape (Hernan Cattaneo & Soundexile Rework)

14. Mercurio – Beautiful

15. Sigur Ros – Svefn-G-Englar

Disc Two – Night

1. Hernán Cattáneo & Soundexile – Blacklight (Night mix)

2. Hernán Cattáneo & John Tonks – July (Manuel Sofia Remix)

3. Way Out West – Ultra Violet (Guy J Remix)

4. Tone Depth – Rumblefish (Diyo Remix)

5. Henry Saiz –The Rider

6. Tonnsaied – Seven Seventy

7. Alex.47 – Eggsperience (Hernan Cattaneo & Soundexile Mix 1)

8. Alex.47 – Eggsperience (Hernan Cattaneo & Soundexile Mix 2)

9. Hernán Cattáneo & Soundexile – Cripsis (Night Mix)

10. Fefo & Dario Arcas – Take Me Away

11. Billy Dalessandro – Your Touch (Alexander Kowalski Remix)

12. Future Beat Alliance – Crying Sine

13. Quivver – Boom Boom

14. Hernán Cattáneo & Soundexile – Teleport

15. Manuel Sofia – An Endless Forest

16. Diyo – Underlight

***Italics denotes a HC album exclusive

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: