Northern Exposure 2

2

November 4, 2010 by DJ Elroy

I was moving some boxes earlier this week and saw a few CDs stuck between some magazines… They turned out to be the legendary Northern Exposure mixes by Sasha and Digweed. Not sure how they got there, but who am I to question this obvious divine suggestion to re-live the magic…

I didn’t have a chance to pop them in the player until today; all of a sudden I’m back in the 90s when dance music was fresh and exciting.

I’d forgotten how much I loved this set! Beautifully epic songs, tight programming and seamless mixing. And the sound? Amazing! Nothing sounds like this anymore. Remember when progressive-house and trance kandi-flipped hand-in-hand? When is the last time you could hear the pop of vinyl in a mix? Listening to the Northern Exposure series always made me thankful to have been a part of the scene back then; watching the music discover itself and grow, kind of like the rock culture in the 60s or the hip-hop culture in the 80s. And I wasn’t just part of the scene, I was living it… I was watching history being made!

And it wasn’t just the mixes… I remember one of the last original Sasha and Digweed tours (back when they were still playing together) here in Colorado at Heritage Square. Well, remember might not be accurate. I know I was there and they were there. They rest is a kind of glowing blur. And despite waiting in line for almost 3 hours to get in (thanks, Roofless!), the show was mindblowing. My face was melting, my ears were orgasming, and I was lifted to heaven!

2 thoughts on “Northern Exposure 2

  1. concertFreak says:

    I was also at the Heritage Square night. One of the best raves I’ve ever been to.

Leave a Reply

