The Big 4

Leave a comment

November 8, 2010 by DJ Elroy

Back at the office… Again.

But it was a good weekend. After what seems like months of clubs, concerts, and commitments, I finally had a few days to relax and recover. But that never seems long enough, does it?

Music-wise it was a pretty tame… No new electronic stuff at all. I have an inbox full of emails and promos I haven’t bothered to check. The only new music I came across is The Big 4 DVD (Metallica, Slayer, Megadeth, Anthrax), a live show in Bulgaria. They must not have been able to fill a stadium here in the States… Kinda like dance music, right? Why is Europe so much better for music across the board?

But I popped it in and the first thing that jumped out at me was “Wow, these guys are OLD!” Gray beards, extra chins, and leather faces… This didn’t change the killer music, but seeing these guys looking so broke down makes ME feel old! And their voices (not the best to start with) are tore up…I know these guys are career musicians, professionals, but how old is too old? When is it time to hang it up?

It’s a decent live show and includes some bonus tour footage. Definitely something for the fans to check out… but everyone else? Meh. Not the best performance by any of the bands. No new material. And they sound past their prime. The only “bonus” is the jam at the end with all the members onstage. Almost like a ‘one last hurrah’ moment. I know, it’s supposed to be a tribute to Dio, but it also felt like goodbye for the Big 4…

Hopefully this week I’ll get to my inbox and get some new EDM posted… And as always I’m sharing bootlegs and mixes on my Facebook page, so tune in there!

Leave a Reply

