"Rango"

Leave a comment

March 15, 2011 by DJ Elroy

Best movie I’ve seen this year. Period.

I couldn’t bring myself to go opening weekend. After all, the audience would be mostly kids.

And I hate kids.

So I waited to catch a weeknight showing. Aside from avoiding the headache a sold-out theater full of screaming brats would bring, weeknight shows allow me to get there on my time and I can have my pick of seats. No lines, no need to hear that annoying couple that’s always talking or get stuck next to the tween that can’t put her cell down or to sit in front of that douche that keeps kicking the back of my chair…

And the movie? Amazing! The first thing that hit me was the beautiful animation. It’s a  Nickelodeon production with help from Blind Wink and GK Films.  Industrial Light & Magic (ILM) handled the animation, and this is one of the best looking films I’ve ever seen.

But looks ain’t everything, right?

The characters were fun, and the voice-acting was spot on. Johhny Depp steals the show here. Yes, it’s the same fucking character he plays in every other role, but this time it actually works! “But Elroy, he’s a great actor, can’t you see that?” Sure he is, I’m not saying he isn’t, but he’s nailed down the one archetype and makes only superficial changes from movie to movie. Maybe I enjoyed him more this time because I don’t have to see him doing the same expressions and mannerisms he seems to use in all his films.

The great animation and strong characters are all good, but the story is what ties everything together. It’s nothing mind-blowing, but it’s got a solid plot and plenty of laughs throughout. The flick dropped a few double-entendres but managed to stay clean and funny at the same time. Funny and unoffensive? Who knew that could work? There are a bunch of little things, too. The easter eggs, the nods to other movies, and chacicatures of real people from both film and real life all come together to make this movie pure win.  

This is definitely one to catch on the silver screen. But choose your showtime wisely.

Leave a Reply

