Attention Bedroom Rockers: Give me New!

Leave a comment

July 16, 2011 by DJ Elroy

Back in the days of mixtapes (actual cassettes, remember those?) everything got a listen. Not everything was good, but it all got a chance to be heard. It was because the music still had that magic. You actually had to go out looking for new mixes. Sure, the sound quality was shit by today’s standards, but that used to take a back seat to the music and pure fun of the mix anyway, right?

Now it seems most of the big names have a monthly podcast or a weekly radio show and they play the same tired stuff each time. The superstars of today are over-played, period. All the mystery is gone. Giving the fans something extra, for free, is great. But give them too much, too fast, and they’ll get tired of you.

That’s where I’m at. I need something new.

The sound, the equiptment, the skills, the networking today… all better. But the music and the mixes? THEY ARE BORING!

Give me something new. Something different. I want to find new music from new names. Give me something fresh. I don’t want to hear another washed up ‘DJ play it safe’.

I’m starting a new feature on the Digital Dancefloor called “Spotlight On”. I want to hear what everyone else is doing. I want to talk to people that are still excited about the music. So many of the big names make me feel like I’m just another inconvenience in their schedule during our interviews. I want to talk with artists that want to talk to me! I want to talk to you!

Think you have what it takes? I’m looking for bedroom DJs, Producers, and local artists from around the world. Are you the next big thing?

You don’t need to be a complete newb here, but if you’re DJing professionally this feature isn’t for you. On the flipside, if you still suck, please keep working your chops before you send me something. I won’t put up anything that is embarrasingly bad. Sorry. I’m not going to sugar-coat it for you. I want people that have been around but haven’t made the jump from amateur to carrer jock.

So if you’re an up-and-comer hit me up! The feature will require a quick Q&A, an exclusive mix, a monthly Top 10, and all your contact info. The perfect way to highlight yourself, network, and reach new ears!

Interested? Email me: music@djelroy.com

Leave a Reply

