Sleazy McQueen – 5+1 (Headtunes) [out now!]

December 18, 2011 by DJ Elroy

denver, dj, djelroy, elroy, house heads anonymous, digital dancefloor, techno, electro

Various Artists mixed by Sleazy McQueen – 5+1 (Headtunes) (Preview Clips) by Kahua Music

“When you think of House Music, usually the first thing that pops in your head is either Chicago, or New York City. Boston is not a city that would roll off the lips at first, but now it shall with Boston based Headtunes Recordings!” – Philadelphia Weekly

5+1 is Headtunes Recordings’ first mix CD and also falls on the label’s 6th birthday! Born in November of 2005 with Grant Dell’s ‘Love Tilt’, Headtunes have gone on to release some amazing deep and tech house tracks from artists such as Joshua Iz, Audio Soul Project, Pete Dafeet and Jay West. Mixed by long-time collaborator Sleazy McQueen, 5+1 tells the Boston imprint’s story past, present and future.

Headtunes went down the innovative crowd-funding route using to fund the project, asking for donations from their fans, friends and supporters in return for rewards such as participants names appearing in the liner notes, autographed CDs, digital download bundles and even a BBQ party. The $1,000 target was comfortably surpassed inside a month and it was full steam ahead!

The tracks on 5+1 were hand-selected by Sleazy McQueen, the unique and eccentric Orlando based chum of the Headtunes crew. Known for his ‘culturally-confused and funked-up’ sound, this mix really highlights Sleazy as a versatile DJ and defines the sound that Headtunes has always stayed true to. With roots in house and techno, it sees a wide range of the label’s extensive catalog plus additional material from Sleazy McQueen, his alter ego of Tres Gueros and his Whiskey Disco re-edit imprint. The CD also includes brand new tracks from Manchester’s Cosmic Boogie alongside J Kriv (Tortured Soul) and Lou Teti (Tigers On A Leash).

Headtunes and Sleazy McQueen are no strangers to partying, with regular events in Boston and outings to the Miami WMC. The album will see Sleazy embarking on a 5-city tour of Europe, starting on October 15th and taking in Paris, Marseilles, Manchester, London and Oslo. His +1 is a return visit to Boston in December to rock the socks off the Bostonist like it was the 2004 World Series all over again!


01. Jesus Pablo – C Major
02. Tres Gueros ft Anne Montone – Your Love(Joshua Iz Only Love Vocal Mix)
03. Cosmic Boogie – Feel It
04. Peckos – What Are You? (Pete Dafeet Remix)
05. Sleazy McQueen – Trains Over Broadway (Pezzner Remix)
06. Noise Destruction – Z Track 05 (Audio Soul Project Remix)
07. Grant Dell – Don’t Need Ya
08. Do It Proper – Love Haight (Homero Espionsa Mix)
09. SMQ ft Anne Montone – Anna Due (Social Disco Club Remix)
10. Do It Proper – The Ride (Joshua IZ Vizual Ride)
11. Sleazy McQueen feat DJ Itek & QBAM – Big Times, Big Tings (Cole Medina’s Buffalo Times Mix)
12. Grant Dell – House Tribute
13. Dirtyworx – Una Cola (Jota Wagner Rework)
14. Tres Gueros – Instead You Go (Neighbour Remix)
15. Mario Dujic – My Need is You
16. J Kriv & Lou Teti – Elisco (Munga’s 5am Mix) (exclusive to mixed version)


%d bloggers like this: