Spotlight On: DJ IsoMetric

Leave a comment

December 24, 2011 by DJ Elroy

denver, dj, djelroy, elroy, house heads anonymous, digital dancefloor, techno, electro

The Holidays are a time for giving and for sharing, and that’s exactly what a good disc jockey does. He gives not only his mixes and shares not just newly discovered music, he also shares his love for music. It’s not something you can learn; it’s something that comes naturally. Either you have it or you don’t. And this is why a lot of jocks simply don’t make it. They may be technical wizards, but they don’t have a personality and they can’t effectively share their love lof music. 

But then there’s IsoMetric. While him and I don’t always see eye-to-eye one what “good” music is, he’s never been afraid to play what he likes. He’s never been one to pick a set off the Top 10 sales charts. I caught up with him over the Holiday season and we had some words.

So Iso, considering we’ve been jamming together for years, I really don’t know too much about how you got to where you are now. And that is…

Well right now I’m a Traktor DJ. I’ve been doing it about eight years; I learned mixing with vinyl, then moved to CDJs, but Traktor does everything I want to do with a mix, so why not use it? It’s not just “push play and go”, it’s more hands on than that, but haters and purists won’t give it a chance. I’d like to get into production because it goes hand in hand with DJing. You can’t have one without the other, right? But I’m enjoying the mixing side of the art for now…

And where do you want to go?

Right now I’m just having fun and am happy enjoying the music, but I’d really like to get a residency spot at a club. Short-term I’m hoping to jump on LogicX when it comes out and start making my own tunes.

And what was it that gave you that push into from listener to performer?

I started listening to dance music around 1998. It’s when the fist big wave of electronica hit the States. It had been around for a while but it was pretty +underground. The late 1990s and early 2000s the culture made big strides here. For me DJing was the next step, the natural evolution of things. It went from being part of the crowd listening to the music to being the one in control, sharing it with everyone else.

denver, dj, djelroy, elroy, house heads anonymous, digital dancefloor, techno, electro

Any memorable gigs or mixes you’ve done?

I’ve played a few shows at Casslemen’s, but I’m more of a house-party guy. I just like the party vibe more because it’s laid back and focused on fun and the music and not about getting dressed up and going out to hook up. I’ve done a bunch of one-off mixes and guestmixes for the Digital Dancefloor podcast and other web radio shows. Right now I’m focusing on getting a new mix out every month on my own AlgoRhythm podcast.

Describe your musical style and sound:

Well it’s hard to describe because I don’t really have a particular style. I do rock a lot of variations of house, but there’s so much more. What I play depends on what kind of mood I’m in and what tracks I’m feeling. I love different genres and music from different cultures and that’s always influenced my taste in music and what I listen to and what I play. That’s what makes a good DJ, you know? Having good taste in music. Be a leader, be unique. Don’t play what everyone else is playing.

And how about your live sets?

Just listen to my AlgoRhythem podcasts. Those are all recorded live, so what you hear is what you get. Editing and a lot of post-production stuff may work for some people, but I like the raw sound of one-shot mixes. It adds something more… energy, maybe? They’re more fun to do, that’s for sure.

What’s your inspiration?

What really got me inspired to start mixing was the early Global Underground mix CDs. Technically the stuff today is a lot stronger, but there’s just something about those old mixes that I still enjoy. It’s the music and the creativity of artists that keeps things fresh for me, whether it was 10 years ago or today.

So how have you evolved as an artist?

Of course I’ve evolved, but being able to say how is a bit trickier. My technique has gotten tighter and my tastes have changed. I don’t always follow the trends, but I’m not stuck in the past, doing the same thing I was when I started. To quote Kid Cudi: “It’s not rocket science; the scene changes with the beats.” You’ve got to adapt and evolve to survive

Exactly! As the technology evolves, the music evolves, and the scene evolves… Do you think it’s moving in a positive direction?

 I look at the dance scene like I look at cars: The older stuff is amazing and fun but the new technology makes everything tighter. As you get older you’ll remember all of the good stuff and forget all the crap. We may not use vinyl anymore, but there is still an art to diggin’ and weeding through all the trash. Seems like there’s more today, but that’s probably because there’s more music and now everyone can play. You don’t need a studio to make beats anymore.

Where do you hang out online?

My favorite place is the Picture of the Day forum on the Joe Rogan message board. All of the most unique  pictures on the internet end up there. It’s great, but a word of warning: What has been seen cannot be unseen! I do browse around a few music forums, but I’m not a big part of the community in most.

What do you do when you’re not living and breathing music?

Family always comes first. But music, Xbox, and TV like “Top Gear” and “Always Sunny” help me stay sane.

And final Words of Wisdom

“Some people have no sense of direction.”

Trainspotting:

01: State of Grace ft Kirsty Hawkshaw (Orig) – Swayzak
02: Room44 (Orig) – Chris Llopis
03: Oustider (Josel RMX) Burufunk
04: Revolution (Orig) – Rocket
05: You Are Sleeping (PQM Meets Luke Chable Vocal Pass) – PQM
06: Micarcle Wall – Pink Floyd vs Fragma by Ben Double M
07: Down to Earth (Orig) – Maddelish
08: Hey (Chris Lake Marco Lys ReEdit) – Nightriders
09: Manduco (Orig) – Muzzaik
10: Resolved (Daniel Marques RMX) – Spartaque
11: Something (Andi Vax RMX) – Incognet ft Jeter Avio
12: He’s the Man (Orig) – Paolo Mojo
13: Let Me Think About It (DeRom RMX) – Ida Corr

 

Leave a Reply

