There's No Excuse for Bad Demos

January 5, 2012 by DJ Elroy

denver, dj, elroy, djelroy, house music, house heads anonymous, digital dancefloor, nightclub

Not anymore.

I grabbed a dozen mixes yesterday to get me thru my time in cubicle hell, and so far I have to say I’m disappointed. Why don’t people seem to know when their mixes are crap?

Sure, I’ve put out a few mixes I haevn’t enjoyed as much as others, but they’ve still been listenable, and still got good feedback from others. And yes, I have scrapped a few mixes that weren’t up to my standards. There’s no shame in holding back a project that’s not ready.

But putting something out that sucks actually does more damage than not releasing anything. It’s takes a long time to build up a following and the trust of fans, but it only takes one shitty mix to lose it all.

If you’re new and still learning the art, I can understand a loose mix. But if you’re new and can’t lock into a groove yet, you’re not ready to throw anything out to the public. So don’t do it. There will come a time when you’ll need to take the jump and go public, but don’t do it before you’re ready.

And I’m not only talking about bad technical skills. I’m also including boring mixes. If you get your setlist from the Beatport top 10, or grab a bunch of stuff you’ve found on another DJ’s chart, or simply have a go-nowhere, unmotivated mix, save us all the trouble and re-do it. Dig for unique music. There’s so much out there you don’t need to bite. And learn how to program a good set. Doesn’t always have to be “a journey” but it should have some flow and a sense of direction.

Peoples’ time is valuable. Don’t waste it, or they won’t give you another chance. A lot of us get a bunch of unsolicited music each day and only have time to listen to the best of it.

 

