Artists to Watch: Dave Marshall

Leave a comment

August 18, 2015 by DJ Elroy

When you’re as jaded as I am, it’s not easy to find new names that impress. The big festival guys¬†usually disappoint. Even the jocks I like understandably play more to the crowd (and thus less to me) at the massives. Everyone is straight bangin’ out all the newest shit, right? Everyone wants to play it safe.

But every now and then I come across an artist I’ve never heard that simply blows me away. And when I do find somebody new and fresh, I share it with my friends. I like to grab as much of their work as possible. Sometimes I overdo it and burn myself out.

That’s not the case with Dave Marshall, however.

The DJ Mixes on his Soundcloud page are brilliant. No, they’re not flawless masterpieces, but they’re fun, and that’s something that’s missing from a lot of music today.

This guy can mix it up with the best of them. His Eclectic Sunny Day mixes offer up a bit of everything with hits, mashups, and underground gems old and new. He’s got a great oldschool breakbeat series, some old hardcore rave stuff, original breaks and electro, and so much more. I’ve probably listened to a dozen or more of his mixes and still have pages of stuff to go through.

But so far it’s been completely worth it.

Check him out and let me know what you think in the comments.

https://www.facebook.com/DaveMarshallDJMixes

https://soundcloud.com/dave-marshall

Leave a Reply

