One of Those Days…

Leave a comment

December 15, 2015 by DJ Elroy

If there was ever a day I wish I would have worn a hoody to work so I could hide from everybody it’s today. I’d bring in ear buds so I don’t have to hear the incessant buzzing of human voices all talking about nothing at the same time and driving me mad… Is this what life is all about?

Sometimes it feels as if I’m on the verge of a mental and/or emotional breakdown, but I don’t know why I’m in this state. Well, actually I do, but I don’t know how to fix it.

My logical brain that usually keeps my emotions bottled up is failing me; it’s confused because it doesn’t understand why people constantly complain about the bad situations they make for themselves but now it is suffering under crushing (self-made) internal strife and laughing at itself like it laughs at everyone else while at the same time feeling sorry for itself but secretly relishing the sense of emotion because it so rarely feels anything at all that this change, while not pleasant, it a relatively new experience.

Then the ego and self-doubt come in and wonder if there is something wrong with me and why my brain has taken over and is driving on the wrong-way track to Insane City.

Aren’t we all supposed to be working as a team?

And on days like this sometimes it’s only music that can really calm me down. Then again, sometimes the music is what gets me worked up, bringing up memories of better (and sometimes worse) times.

What are some of the songs,  albums, or artists you listen to to lift you out of the fugue state, or pump you up, or calm you down, or motivate you? What do you listen to that makes you happy every time you hear it?

Leave a Reply

