anthony pappa: movements vol 2

Leave a comment

May 26, 2009 by DJ Elroy

Release Date: TBA June 2009


Courtesy of Red Light District

Globetrotting DJ, dance music ambassador, musical aficionado and all round gentlemen, Anthony Pappa is all these and more. With a career spanning over 15 years, Anthony is one of the most respected figures on the international club scene and the latest instalment of his ‘Moments’ mix series proves he’s at the top of his game more than ever.

Welcome to ‘Moments Vol 2’. The inaugural ‘Moments’ album was released in 2008 to critical and public acclaim alike, and the second volume delivers an equally accomplished and exhilarating ride… and then some. It’s a sound that has been forged during his hectic DJ schedule over the last few months and then fine-tuned in the studio. Ever the perfectionist, Anthony has left no stone unturned, both in his search for exciting new music and making it all fit together to dramatic effect.

There’s hardly a country Anthony hasn’t played in and that’s reflected in the international track listing assembled for ‘Moments 2’. He’s secured plenty of exclusive material too including contributions from Greek producers Stel and Dousk, Gabe from Brazil, Russian duo Monaque. As well as good old home grown UK talent from Jim Rivers, Reset Robot & Fergie. Anthony gets involved in the action himself with ‘Blending With the Ether’, a new collaboration with fellow Australians Danny Bonnici from Nubreed and technical wizz DJ Phil K.

“I do over 200 flights a year all over the world,” he explains, “and that’s going to be reflected in my DJ sets. Music comes from everywhere these days and you’ve really got to keep your eyes and ears open on your travels.”

Anthony is no stranger to the mix CD, of course, and has worked with Renaissance, Global Underground and the Balance series among others. ‘Moments’ continues that proud tradition and as well as the latest upfront cuts, he’s equally at home including tracks that he’s been playing out for six months and which still have that special quality. It’s all about finding what’s a cut above the rest and Anthony has a knack for music that has that extra feeling or spark.

“It’s about trying to find an album of those special tracks,” he says, “those special moments, if you like, and make them all work together. It’s been a year since the first ‘Moments’ came out and the music has moved on; this is Anthony Pappa 09 and the current sound of underground electronic music from house to techno.”

As well as compiling ‘Moments 2’, Anthony’s schedule is as busy as ever. He’s always on the lookout for new music to sign to his Red Light District imprint and puts together a monthly ‘Moments’ show on Proton Radio. Whenever a break in his DJ schedule allows, Anthony hits the studio and has recently been collaborating with Chad Jackson, another former DMC champion.

As one of the most travelled DJs out there, what keeps Anthony’s passion for the music strong?

“I love to play and I love the music; I get a real buzz out of making a dancefloor rock and making people happy. The travelling can be hard but once I arrive at the club and put my first track on, what I did to get there becomes irrelevant.

“It’s all about sharing the music you love with people so they can enjoy it. Each time I walk away thinking that was a really good night is special in itself; that’s a great moment there and then.”

It’s all about those special moments – enjoy.

CD 1

01. Stel – The Nail That Sticks Out – Mood Music
02. Reset Robot – M Siren -8 Sided Dice
03. Reset Robot – Continue -8 Sided Dice
04. Marc Romboy & Mr K Alexi – Acid Love (D’Julz Remix) – Systematic
05. Mark Broom – Get Serious (Brooms London Mix) – Dekadent Schallplatten
06. Brendon Moeller – The Big Thrill – Connaisseur
07. Taster Peter – Metro Sexual –
08. Mistress De Funk – The Labyrinth (Lucca Remix) –Sound Of Acapulco
09. Jakiro – Litmus – EVapour8 Recordings
10. Erphun – 2wo Butterflies (Quivver Mix) – Audio Therapy
11. Patlac, Matthias Meyer – Skipper – Liebe Detail
12. Oliver Moldan Presents Prawler – Holy Cow –Prawler Music
13. Bonnici, Pappa, Phil K – Blending With The Ether – Red Light District

CD 2

01. Florian Kruse – The Miracle (Dave DK Magic World Remix) – Dieb Audio
02. Dousk – Keep Your Nose – Vapour Recordings
03. Paul Jackson – Souls – Gus Gus Remix – Audio Therapy
04. Peter Horrevorts – Romance Is Overrated – Kanzleramt
05. Giorgo Giordano – Amazzonia (David Tort Tech Remix) – Yoshitoshi
06. Glenn Morrison – Orange Glow (Robert Babicz Remix) – Audio Therapy
07. Fergie, Reset Robot & Alan Fitzpatrick – Gas Masks – 8 Sided Dice
08. Yousef – Letter To No One (Fergie”s Excentric Mix) – Circus Recordings
09. Anton Pieete – Players (Original Mix) – Intacto
10. Silicone Soul – The Call Of The Wild – Soma Recordings
11. Gabe – Sea Monster – Sprout
12. Jim Rivers – Stone (Henry Saiz Remix) – Global Underground
13. Monaque – Umbrella – Vapour Recordings


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: